Subscribe to us

More from Author

Stylist Daren’s hair-raising way to boost charity funds

Stylist Daren Terry is pulling his hair out…or he will be if his much-loved clients don’t adhere to his advice on how to cope...
HomeNewsSportBlinding result! Top trio Dendy, Ragless and Bizzell are crowned Bognor darts...

Blinding result! Top trio Dendy, Ragless and Bizzell are crowned Bognor darts champions

Ian Dendy, Richard Ragless and Paul Bizzell were crowned Friday Night Summer Darts League blind trebles tnockout champions after a thrilling event at the Newtown Social Club.

The action saw the conclusion of the summer league with a blind trebles knockout followed by the trophy presentation.

Some 87 players took part in the knockout, a record for the summer beating last year by six players, and the second best Friday night turnout on record.

The first semi-final saw Dave Bourne (Aldwick Legion), Derrick Longhurst (Squash Club) & Mark R Todd (BRSA Ravens) take on Mark H Todd (BRSA Ravens), Stuart Gray (QE2 Galleon) & Gary Blackwood (BRSA Wanderers). Two good teams, but Todd junior, Gray and Blackwood hit the doubles to get through to the final.

The second semi-final saw Rob Allen (Aldwick Legion), Simon McDougall (Newtown ‘C’) and Simon Kimber (Friary ‘D’) against Dendy (QE2 Galleon), Ragless (Squash Club) and Bizzell (QE2 Galleon). The might of the QE2 pair and Ragless saw them take the second spot in the final.

The final saw Blackwood beat Ragless with the bullseye, giving his team the first throw. They kept the lead all the way to the double, but misses at the doubles allowed Dendy, Ragless and Bizzell to catch up, with Bizzell hitting the double for the first leg.


The second leg saw a slow but steady start from Dendy, Ragless and Bizzell, while Blackwood started with 125. This still left them behind, and with a 140 from Ragless to leave 16, Dendy only needed one dart to hit double 8, taking the leg, and the win, making himself, Ragless and Bizzell this year’s Blind Trebles Champions, and taking home £216 between them.

Another great selection of raffle prizes were won, as were a lovely selection of trophies supplied by Aford Awards (the new owners of C&M Trophies of Littlehampton) for the presentation.

The final league positions were…

Overall winners – Friary ‘Z’
Overall runners-up – BRSA Wanderers
Singles winners – Friary ‘Z’
Singles runners-up – BRSA Wanderers
Pairs winners – Friary ‘Z’
Pairs runners-up – Squash Club
Trebles winners – BRSA Wanderers
Trebles runners-up – Hunston Hares

Overall winners – QE2 Galleon
Overall runners-up – Friary ‘D’
Singles winners – QE2 Galleon
Singles runners-up – Friary ‘D’
Pairs winners – QE2 Galleon
Pairs runners-up – Friary ‘D’
Trebles winners – QE2 Galleon
Trebles runners-up – Aldingbourne Mavericks

Overall winners – Newtown ‘C’
Overall runners-up – Royal Oak
Singles winners – Newtown ‘C’
Singles runners-up – Royal Oak
Pairs winners – BRSA Jokers
Pairs runners-up – Richmond ‘B’
Trebles winners – Newtown ‘C’
Trebles runners-up – Royal Oak

Carl Eldridge
Carl Eldridge
Carl Eldridge is a hugely experienced journalist who has worked on local and national newspapers, magazines and written for websites over the past 30 years. He lives in Bognor Regis with his wife and son.